Home » (To the Reader) » Questions for Confession

5 thoughts on “Questions for Confession

  1. Andrew! It’s good to “hear” from you. :)

    Your question gives me no pause in my confession. Yes, I do read the master as God.

    The context of the larger speech, which starts in Matthew 24, makes it clear that he is telling parables about the final judgment that comes when the Son of Man returns. Even if we suspended the interpretation that the master is God, we cannot ignore the parable’s relationship to final judgment. So if you prefer, you could change the whole thing into a passive voice construction; this would avoid the involvement of “God” while keeping the essential understanding of being judged. But conscience knows better than to talk of judgment without a judge.

    Apart from the parable, I could have used Romans and James as the basis for these questions of confession.

    How do you read the parable?

  2. I would like to imagine you “seeing” the glint in my eye as I posed the earlier question. Still the trouble maker you know…

    To answer your question forthrightly, i would say without pause, I’m absolutely, not sure, i think…

    No really, “yes”, I agree with your above confession. However, I make a strong distinction between the here and now “God” and the God who we get a mere glimpses of through apocalyptic scriptures.
    (now there’s one to chat about over a cup of coffee)

    I love and miss you my dear brother! I hope I gave you pause, not to ponder my odd ideas, but rather to smile. I am so very proud of you!

    • Gracious and seasoned with salt.

      I love you, brother, and I figured you were playing the trouble-maker. (I thought to myself: Who would add a question to the string of longwinded ones I already wrote? There is only one Andrew.)

      It is good to hesitate when it comes to drawing clear lines around God. The parables are especially unreliable for that. But I do think they contain a sketch of the terms of Christian life; they outline the kingdom well enough for us to know what is required of us. So what was mystifying to the crowds becomes edifying to the disciple who, as an individual, presses on toward God.

      Anyway, I’m making a plan to come chat with you—and a cup of coffee sounds wonderful.

  3. Pingback: Death and the Unhindered Kingdom | The Overflow

Thoughts in response?

