Home » (Criticisms and Critiques) » A Dialogue. A Preliminary Critique. Of Intellectual Property.

A Dialogue. A Preliminary Critique. Of Intellectual Property.

A. Doesn’t it bother you that someone could just take your ideas?
B. No. It did once. But it doesn’t anymore.
A. Are you resigned, then? You don’t care about someone else using your stuff and calling it his own?
B. I do care. But I wouldn’t be upset if someone used my thoughts.
A. Your stuff is good. I wouldn’t want someone taking my writing if I were you.
B. Thank you, but I’m not worried about anyone “taking” my writing. And I’m not “resigned.” I’m determined not to be protective of what I write.
A. Why?
B. Because what’s mine has been taken from someone else. It’s hard to even call it “mine.”
A. But what if someone used your stuff as his own, and then made money off of it?
B. At first I’d say he’s dishonest. Then I’d say (what might be the same) that he’s a clever enough businessman.
A. Why’s that?
B. Because he has found one of the few writers, maybe in all the world, who does not believe in intellectual property, and he has taken full advantage of a great opportunity.

Thoughts in response?

