Home » (Old Journal: First Days of Teaching) » From an Old Journal. First Days of Teaching, Entry 1.

From an Old Journal. First Days of Teaching, Entry 1.

From August 10, 2010:

Today, I am not as tired as I was yesterday. I met all the students I will have for the year, save a few. I was so relieved that I didn’t have to hold my homeroom class[*] at the end of the day. Yesterday, they were with me from 8:00 to 3:30.This morning, I had them from 7:30 to (I don’t know) maybe 1:00.

I like my students so far, but am glad I have only a handful of those in my homeroom that are also in my English II classes.

I am too lenient. I will try to be strict, but will not write a referral for the first month.[**] Tired. Only second day of classes.


* The practice of holding used to be done in this high school so that counselors could create schedules during the first week of the year. As I recall, I held my homeroom for two days. No learning took place in that time period. This practice was corrected after my second year of teaching here.

** There is an arrow beside this sentence that points to a comment on the side: “Failed to achieve this goal.”

Thoughts in response?

