Home » (Old Journal: First Days of Teaching) » From an Old Journal. First Days of Teaching, Entry 2.

From an Old Journal. First Days of Teaching, Entry 2.

(This is another entry transcribed from an old and forgotten journal that I rediscovered as I was cleaning out my classroom.)

From August 11, 2010:

Too lenient again today, by MTC standards. I think I am going to be more strict but will “refresh” my penalty-count several times in class. I just can’t make one warning last for 104 minutes.[*]

I might be “a real teacher” by the end of next week. Maybe. I don’t know when I will contact parents.

I am more organized now than I have ever been in my life. I have no time because of it, but I trust that it will pay off in the end.

I need Jesus.


* When I started, I was trained to use a “consequence ladder” for behavior infractions. A student would get a “warning,” and then receive “checks” that signified various levels of punishment. This I now regret.

Thoughts in response?

