Home » (Old Journal: First Days of Teaching) » From an Old Journal. First Days of Teaching, Entry 3.

From an Old Journal. First Days of Teaching, Entry 3.

(This is another entry transcribed from an old and forgotten journal that I rediscovered as I was cleaning out my classroom.)

From August 12, 2010:

Another 10 to 11 hour workday, with more work to take home. Now I know why my teachers were so excited for Friday; when I was a student this always seemed strange to me. Maybe I thought of my teachers as robots.

The conversation with Blake about identity (and identity in Christ) is recurring in my thoughts, especially when I feel inadequate. I still don’t know how to teach for 104 minutes.

This is harder than I ever could have imagined.

“Expectations” are everywhere at this school. So much expectation, but no explicit direction. When I am a leader, I will not do this.[*] Directions must be stated; otherwise, the leadership looks incompetent—as if it knows what needs to be achieved, but not what needs to be done or how to do it.

So tired.


* Of course, easier said than done.

Thoughts in response?

