Home » (Experimental Thoughts) » A Quote. Of the Crippling Power of the Consciousness of Sin.

A Quote. Of the Crippling Power of the Consciousness of Sin.

Moi, régner! Moi ranger un État sous ma lois,
Quand ma faible raison ne règne plus sur moi!
Lorsque j’ai de mes sens abandonné l’empire!
Quand sous un joug honteux à peine je respire!
Quand je me meurs!*

—Racine (par Phèdre), Phrèdre

* Me, reign‽ Me, govern a state under my law when my weak reason no longer reigns over me, when I have abandoned the dominion of sense, when under a shameful yoke I struggle to breathe, when I am dying‽

Thoughts in response?

